After Us. A Wongfu short.

by wewriteourownstories

One of the reasons why I came back to this blog was because I had just watched a Wongfu short. “After Us”.

As usual, Wongfu beautifully captured the vulnerability and emotions we face as humans in pursue of love, affection and acceptance by others.

It’s times like this, after watching a meaningful short that prompts me to ponder upon my own life. What have done that have actually made an impact to someone’s life like what Wongfu has done to millions? Well, I could say that I donate to charity, that I’m usually really nice and I’m the sort of person who would just smile at a stranger or a foreigner to make their day brighter. [if they’re looking at me] or walk up to tourists holding up maps and asking if they need any help. I could try to defend my own little existence and the little 2 min impacts I’ve made in a handful of lives, but simply put, no, I haven’t done anything that has positively impacted someone else’s life.

It’s a weird mix of positiveness and a dark shadow of depression after watching shorts by them. I feel as though I’m wasting my life away and another part of me feels like maybe I just haven’t started living life yet, maybe life starts now?

I’m just a couple of years away from turning thirty, about half of my life gone [if i’m lucky]. But yet, I feel like I haven’t done anything. I feel like just packing my bags and buying a flight down to LA, knock on Wongfu’s door and tell them I’ll work for food and accommodation. To live, a different life I guess, from the one I’m living in Asia. But we all know that’s not possible. They’ll prolly think I’m a whack job.

On another note, realised that Wongfu used my bro’s “adopted sister”s song for this short. hmm..

